Fans and supporters during...

BSFC 10th Edition: Preparations Hot Up

By Etienne Mainimo Mengnjo

Preparations for the celebration of the 10th edition of the Bui Sports Fans Competition (BSFC) are hotting up in Yaoundé.

Ahead of the commemoration, preparatory meetings have intensified, with the different stakeholders taking the necessary dispositions to ensure that all goes well when the competition begins in mid-September 2023.

According to the organizing committee, the 10th anniversary will be celebrated with a lot of fanfare. Besides the ongoing sensitization in the different communities that make up the division, a total of eight teams drawn into two pools will take part in the competition. Teams participating will bear community names from the division.

Registration has also been increased, while the objectives of the competition will be modified. In addition, the tournament shall celebrate the road covered in the past nine editions as well as honour the living and deceased heroes of the BSFC.

The story of BSFC dates back to 2007 when the first edition took place. During that edition, only the Nso community out of the Division’s three tribes was represented. However, the competition was dedicated to the founders of Bui Strikers Veteran Football Club, Yaounde.

Having experienced the same fate during the 2008 edition, the competition was suspended in 2009 to carry out sensitization to bring other communities into the competition.  In 2010, Bui Division was fully represented as the Oku and Noni tribes came on board, and this has been sustained till the 7th edition.

The 8th, 9th, and re-launch editions were staged in the absence of the other communities, but the sons and daughters from the entire Bui Division took part in the competition.

So far, the Royal Olympics of Kikaikom won the competition in 2013 as champions and were runners-up in 2014, when the Kilum Bees of Oku were crown champions. Mbam Valley Football Team emerged champions in 2012, while Sun City FC has remained the only club that has taken the trophy twice, in 2010 and 2011.

In 2015, Mbokam United became champions, while Bui Diaspora FC settled as champions in 2016. Following the outbreak of the ongoing anglophone crisis in the Northwest and Southwest Regions of Cameroon, the competition was suspended.

It was not until 2022 that the relaunch of the competition took place, with 10 teams on board. Nso Islamic Development, and Cultural Association, NICDA FC, defeated Soya Boys FC in the finals to become winners. As the competition enters its 10th edition, a lot of achievements have been recorded, with sons and daughters from the division playing their trade in and out of the country in the world of sports.

Bui Strikers Veteran Football Club in Yaounde is the sole organizer of the competition. Like in past editions, the annual competition was aimed at identifying, exposing, and promoting talents from Bui Division.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *