AWCON 2022: Cameroon, Others Cruising To Morocco

The Cameroon lionesses clinched a spot for the Women’s African Cup of Nations to hold in Morocco. following their 8 nil dashing on the Scorpion Queens of the Gambia and a 2-1 defeat in Gambia.

Coach Gabriel Zabo’s once more demonstrated his high football skill, on Wednesday by trashing the Gambian side at the Bakau International stadium in Gambia by 2 goals to nil in their return-leg game.

The complete list of qualifiers could be seen as follows:

Burundi, Nigeria, Cameroon, Uganda,Senegal, Togo, Zambia, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Botswana and South Africa.

The Moroccan women’s African Soccer bonanza will see the participation of the Togolese women’s team and three others making her first appearance.

By Brian Mboh

Lionesses Morocco

Women’s AFCON: Cameroon To Face Gambia In Last Qualifiers

By Etienne Mainimo

The Lionesses of Cameroon will confront the Scorpions of the Gambia in the second and final qualifying round for the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022.

According to the fixtures released by the Confederation of African Football, CAF, Cameroon will face the Gambia on February 18 at the Ahmadou Ahidjo Stadium, Yaounde.

The second leg will take place between February 21 to 23. Cameroon is expected to play against Gambia at the Independence Stadium de Bakau in Gambia.

Cameroon had qualified for the second round of the qualifiers after thrashing the Central African Republic 3-0 on an aggregate score in home and away fixtures. On their part, The Gambia qualified after overpowering Sierra Leone.

After Kenya’s withdrawal, Uganda officially join hosts Morocco for the final twelve-team tournament. CAF Executive Committee announced Morocco as hosts on 15 January 2021. The biennial competition is expected to take place from July 2 – 23, 2022.

The 2020 edition, which would have been the first to feature twelve teams, was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The top four teams from the tournament will qualify for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and two more teams will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.